## Summary of Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine

1906 - Camillo Golgi and Santiago Ramon y Cajal

"in recognition of their work on the structure of the nervous system"

1911 - Allvar Gullstrand

"for his work on the dioptrics of the eye"

1914 - Robert Barany

"for his work on the physiology and pathology of the vestibular apparatus"

1927 - Julius Wagner-Jauregg

"for his discovery of the therapeutic value of malaria inoculation in the treatment of dementia paralytica"

1932 - Edgar Adrian and Sir Charles Sherrington

"for their discoveries regarding the functions of neurons"

1936 - Sir Henry Dale and Otto Loewi

"for their discoveries relating to chemical transmission of nerve impulses"

1944 - Joseph Erlanger and Herbert S. Gasser

"for their discoveries relating to the highly differentiated functions of single nerve fibres"

1949 - Walter Hess

"for his discovery of the functional organization of the interbrain as a coordinator of the activities of the internal organs"

- Egas Moniz

"for his discovery of the therapeutic value of leucotomy in certain psychoses"

1961 - Georg von Bekesy

"for his discoveries of the physical mechanism of stimulation within the cochlea"

1963 - Sir John Eccles, Alan L. Hodgkin, and Andrew F. Huxley

"for their discoveries concerning the ionic mechanisms involved in excitation and inhibition in the peripheral and central portions of the nerve cell membrane"

1967 - Ragnar Granit, Haldan K. Hartline, and George Wald

"for their discoveries concerning the primary physiological and chemical visual processes in the eye"

1970 - Julius Axelrod, Sir Bernard Katz, and Ulf von Euler

"for their discoveries concerning the humoral transmittors in the nerve terminals and the mechanism for their storage, release and inactivation"

1977 - Robert Guillemin and Andrew V. Schally

"for their discoveries concerning the peptide hormone production of the brain"

1981 - David H. Hubel and Torsten N. Wiesel

"for their discoveries concerning information processing in the visual system"

- Roger W. Sperry

"for his discoveries concerning the functional specialization of the cerebral hemispheres"

1986 - Stanley Cohen and Rita Levi-Montalcini

"for their discoveries of growth factors"

1991 - Edwin Neher and Bert Sakmann

"for their discoveries concerning the function of single ion channels in cells"

2000 - Arvid Carlsson, Paul Greengard and Eric R. Kandel

"for their discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system"

2002 - Sydney Brenner and H. Robert Horvitz

"for their discoveries concerning 'genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death"

2003 - Paul C. Lauterbur and Sir Peter Mansfield

"for their discoveries concerning magnetic resonance imaging"

2004 - Richard Axel and Linda B. Buck

"for their discoveries of odorant receptors and the organization of the olfactory system"

2008 - Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie, and Roger Y. Tsien (Nobel Prize in Chemistry)

"for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP"

2014 - John O'Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser

"for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain"

2017 - Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young

"for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm"

2021 - David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian

"for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch"